Good Vibes, Good for Nothin’

I see it on my pages often enough to make me shake my head… people say “Send prayers and good vibes my way” or “Our thoughts and prayers are with you”.

James 5:14-16, Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another,that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.

That’s what I’m talking about! Pray for me and pray with me!

Ephesians 3:14-18, For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whomevery family in heaven and on earth is named, that according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth…

A clear call to pray and clear reasons to do so. Samuel Chadwick said Prayer is the acid test of devotion. Certainly we must pray–for ourselves, for others, for God’s kingdom to come and will to be done in this world.

We should alway be ready to pray, whether in a plea for aid or a shout of thanks.

1 Thessalonians 5:17 ESV Pray without ceasing…

1 Timothy 2:1 ESV First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings…

There are times we don’t know what to pray for, there are times we are so overwhelmed or blinded by life we cannot find the words, there are moments we lack the wisdom and don’t know what to pray…

Romans 8:26-28, Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.  And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God…

I am grateful, during those moments my tears are my food, and I am at a loss for words, the Holy Spirit speaks for me!

C.S. Lewis said “I pray because I can’t help myself. I pray because I’m helpless. I pray because the need flows out of me all the time- waking and sleeping. It doesn’t change God- it changes me.”

Prayer can change a situation, prayer can shed light on life, prayer can heal, prayer can guide, prayer can change you.
All of this is possible because prayer is a call to God, our Father and The Creator of Heaven and Earth. We shout to our Lord in need, in praise, in guidance, in desperation, in victory–we whisper through our tears and talk to Him about our concerns. In the midst of prayer, God in His glory is at work in us, around us, and through us.

So, yes, pray. Pray!

But your thoughts, your good vibes–while they are a courteous gesture, they equate to nothing more.

Good vibes are a patting the back of a person starving, when they need bread and water.
Your thoughts as the storm approaches, are neither shelter nor fortress.

Good vibes are good for nothing, but prayer has changed history!

Standard

Leave a Reply

