From A Spoon?

I take hold of a raw piece of wood, cut off all the bark, cut it to the shape of a spoon, and carve it. Every spoon is different, in a way, the wood really does decide what it will be.

There are times I look at the spoon and think I want to keep it for myself. I like the grain pattern, the shape, the curve, even the color.

This may sound weird, but I’ve learned about my walk with Christ making wooden spoons.

I stay busy, as I am sure you do. How often do we want to keep our free time for ourselves? Instead of a bible study, meditation, even a theological discussion; I want to watch television, read a book, stare at social media, or depending how stressful the week has been– stare at the wall.

How often do I want to keep that hard earned money for myself?

How often do I want to keep myself, for myself? That wasn’t a typo. Instead of sacrificing for my wife or others I choose the lazy way, the apathetic way, the selfish way.

I never thought I’d say it, but I’ve learned about my walk with Christ–from carving wooden spoons. Hopefully you will too.

Standard

Leave a Reply

